A Member Board of the American Board of Medical Specialties

A- A A+


American Board of Pathology Welcomes New Chief Executive Officer and Announces New Board of Trustees and Officers for 2022

TAMPA, Fla, (January 24, 2022)- The American Board of Pathology (ABPath), the leading organization that certifies physicians in pathology, is pleased to welcome Chief Executive Officer Gary W. Procop, MD, MS, and announce the Board of Trustees and the election of officers for 2022.

Gary W. Procop, MD, MS, ABPath’s New CEO


Procop2Dr. Procop’s position as CEO was effective on January 1, 2022. In this role, Dr. Procop will oversee all aspects of the ABPath’s initial and continuing certification programs and guide the organization through its successful ongoing program improvements.

Dr. Procop is highly regarded in the pathology community with expertise in microbiology and infectious disease pathology. He is recognized for his work in laboratory stewardship and with the education of trainees and ongoing education of diplomates. Prior to his position with the ABPath, Dr. Procop was a Medical Director in Clinical Microbiology and an Infectious Disease Pathologist at the Cleveland Clinic. He held the Belinda Yen-Lieberman PhD and James Lieberman MD Endowed Chair in Clinical Microbiology and was the Director of Molecular Microbiology, Virology, Mycology, and Parasitology laboratories and the Vice Chair for Education. He is past Chair of the Departments of Clinical and Molecular Pathology, and past Section Head for Clinical and Molecular Microbiology.
Dr. Procop has provided many years of service to the ABPath as a Trustee from 2007-2018 and served as President in 2016, Vice President in 2015 and Secretary in 2013-2014. He is board certified in Anatomic and Clinical Pathology, and Medical Microbiology.


  ABPath Board of Trustees and Executive Committee for 2022

BOT 2022 composite final L

The ABPath is pleased to announce the election of the following officers for 2022:
President – Jeffrey D. Goldstein, MD, Los Angeles, CA
Vice President – Ritu Nayar, MD, Chicago, IL
Secretary – Barbara A. Sampson, MD, New York, NY
Treasurer – Mohiedean Ghofrani, MD, Vancouver, WA
Immediate Past President – Edward R. Ashwood, MD, Aurora, CO

Congratulations to the following Trustees who were re-elected to additional terms as Trustees:
• Kathleen G. Beavis, MD, Chicago, IL to 2nd term
• Eric F. Glassy, MD, San Pedro, CA to 3rd term
• Jeffrey D. Goldstein, MD, Los Angeles, CA to 3rd term
• Ritu Nayar, MD, Chicago, IL to 3rd term

In addition to the officers, Trustees of the American Board of Pathology are:
• Kathleen G. Beavis, MD, Chicago, IL
• Constance M. Filling, EdD, Washington, DC
• Susan A. Fuhrman, MD, Columbus, OH
• Mark K. Fung, MD, PhD, Burlington, VT
• Eric F. Glassy, MD, San Pedro, CA
• Karen L. Kaul, MD, PhD, Evanston, IL
• Steven H. Swerdlow, MD, Pittsburgh, PA
• Matthew J. Wasco, MD, Ann Arbor, MI

ABPath extends our sincere appreciation to our Trustees for their continued support and dedication. As leaders in the profession of pathology, their guidance and willingness to serve are critical for the Board to fulfill its mission in serving the public and promoting excellence in the field of pathology.

About the American Board of Pathology
The mission of the American Board of Pathology, as a member of the American Board of Medical Specialties, is to serve the public and advance the profession of pathology by setting certification standards and promoting lifelong competency of pathologists. Founded in 1936, the ABPath accomplishes this mission by establishing certification and continuing certification standards and assessing the qualifications of those seeking to obtain voluntary certification in the specialty of pathology. For more information visit or call (813) 286-2444.

© 2015 The American Board of Pathology. All rights reserved.